Cafe Brigitte

A place for stay at home moms to talk over coffee

Easy Spinach Quiche July 23, 2009

Filed under: Home Management,Recipe — Cafe Brigitte @ 1:32 am
Tags: , ,

I was away from home most of last week and have been on the run ever since I got home at midnight on Sunday (or is that Monday?). I have not had a chance to restock the fridge, so I had to be creative for our dinner tonight. I had spinach in the freezer, pie crusts, and lots of eggs. I love quiche, but so many of the recipes online required ingredients that I didn’t have. That is where I had to be creative and simplify. Here is the recipe I came up with:

1 – 9 inch pie crust (premade frozen, the folded variety, or use your favorite recipe)
4 large eggs
1 cup milk
half of a 16 oz package of frozen, chopped spinach
1 small tomato or half a large one seeded and chopped
1.5 cups shredded cheese (you pick the type – I used colby-jack since that is what I had on hand)
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the over to 400 degree and bake your crust for about 8 minutes (my frozen crust was thawed). While that is baking, cook the spinach according to package directions and drain excess water from the spinach. Then beat your eggs with the milk. Add the spinach and tomato to the egg mixture. Salt and pepper to taste (I used about 3/4 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper).

When the crust is finished prebaking, reduce the oven temperature to 375 degrees. Sprinkle half your cheese in the bottom of the crust, pour in the egg/spinach mixture, and top with the remaining cheese. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes before cutting.

I made two quiches this evening thinking that we would have one for tonight (my husband is working tonight) with leftovers for lunch tomorrow and that I would freeze the second one. Well, my girls ate not just seconds, but thirds, so there were no leftovers from the first quiche. The second one will be lunch tomorrow.

What I like about this recipe is that it is made from things I always have one hand (well, I don’t normally have pie crusts in the freezer, but I do have the ingredients to make them) and it is a complete meal.

Spinach Quiche

IMG_2159

 

Leave a Reply

