Cafe Brigitte

A place for stay at home moms to talk over coffee

It’s hard to believe it has been 8 years already July 1, 2009

Filed under: Parenting,Twins/Multiples — Cafe Brigitte @ 2:11 am
Tags: , ,

Eight years ago today (June 30th) my husband was watching Animal House on the TV in the labor and delivery room with my ob. while I let the pitocin do its thing. It was a rather scary night, since my twins were due September 26th, twelve weeks later, but we seemed to be handling it pretty well.

Nothing about that pregnancy went according to plan. But, I won’t bore you with the details here.

At 1:49 and 1:59 am on July 1st, 2001, my twin girls were born. That was 8 years ago. I can’t believe how the time has flown. My babies aren’t babies anymore. Heck, they are barely little girls anymore. The good news is while they are getting older, I’m not. 😀

Here they are on July 1st, 2001



And, here they are 8 years later:

 

5 Responses to “It’s hard to believe it has been 8 years already”

  1. Jill Cox Says:

    And I was hoping for some “boring details.” 😉

    What a cute cake!

    • Cafe Brigitte Says:

      Here are a couple of boring details for you….First, that pregnancy started out with triplets, but I miscarried one (which made the rest of the pregnancy rather stressful). On June 27th, we had been in CT for my ob. and my perinatologist appointment. The perinatologist told me that if I had them that day, they had a 95% chance of survival, but he thought I would go to term. So, we drove back to our “summer” place in RI. That very night my water broke. David had not gone to the birthing classes with me because of his work schedule, so when I told him I thought my water had broken he asked if that was a “bad thing.” He drove like a bat out of you-know-where to Hartford Hospital (almost 2 hours away usually, but only 1.5 hours that night).

      As for the cake, I normally make the cake, but the girls had seen that one at Sam’s Club and wanted it. I was not going to argue with that given a rather grueling week at VBS the week before.

  2. awww, they were so tiny! It is nice to see other people’s babies that started small! I cannot believe that was a beanie next to them!
    Toni

  3. Kate Says:

    My son was born at 27 weeks, weighing 1lb 15ozs. He’s 6 months old now, is healthy and happy, but it was scary at first. It’s great to hear about babies who are older and doing well.
    Thanks!
    Kate

    • Cafe Brigitte Says:

      Kate,
      It is very scary at the beginning with preemies. You never know what to expect from one day to the next – one day everything is looking great and the next morning when you come in there has been some sort of complication.

      One twin (the one whose water broke) had a smooth ride through the NICU. The other however had just about every complication while she was there. Fortunately for us, every complication resolved on its own and very quickly.

      We are blessed that neither twin had any long term (or short term, really) ill effects from their premature arrival. I wish you the same smooth journey from here on out.

      Brigitte

      PS – My girls were truly good babies after they came home. I think it was because they put us through so much heart ache those first few months in the NICU they figured we deserved a break. 😉


Leave a Reply

