Cafe Brigitte

A place for stay at home moms to talk over coffee

Knitted or Crocheted Dishcloths June 29, 2009

Filed under: Crafts,Home Management,Usborne Books,Work at Home — Cafe Brigitte @ 5:26 pm

I had an Usborne  Books booth at a Ladies Day Out event at the new Cancer Center in Abingdon,Va. last fall.  The Tupperware lady was selling some homemade dishcloths at her booth that I thought were very nice.  She was charging $3 a piece for them and sold all of them before I had a chance to buy any.

I enjoy knitting and crocheting, but I am not very good at it and I tend to lose interest in a project before it is done.  So, after missing out on buying the dishcloths at that event, I thought making my own would be the perfect (fast and seemingly easy) project for me.  I found many sites online that offered patterns that I could follow, but they were mostly crochet patterns.  After some experimentation, I found that the easiest thing to do was crochet a square (about 4 inches) in single crochet, then crochet a boarder around it.  They are nice and tight and are great for light scrubbing.

I have made scrubbies simply knitting cotton yarn with strips of tulle.  They are durable and won’t scratch non-stick surfaces. Crocheting them did not work as well for me, for some reason.

Here is the problem.  I like to make matched sets of scrubbies and dishcloths, and since I have signed up to contribute a supply of homemade crafts for a fundraiser and the only craft I know is this one, I need an easy knitted dishcloth pattern to match my scrubbies.  Well, after looking for a long time, I think I have found the one I need at the Groovy Mom Blog.

I will let you know how it works for me and publish pictures of a completed dishcloth as soon as I get it done.

 

4 Responses to “Knitted or Crocheted Dishcloths”

  1. Amanda Says:

    I can’t wait to see them. Skip To My Lou has lots of good crochet patterns also. I think the address is http://www.skiptomylou.org

  2. I love that dishcloth pattern! It’s the one I use too, and it’s very quick to work up. After the Gnomes for Ethiopia project, I have tons of that cotton yarn left over so I’ve been knitting dishcloths, dishcloths, and more dishcloths. The thing is I’m not sure the bright colors are going to be great in the kitchen, so I’m considering making them into a blanket. We’ll see. :-)

    • Cafe Brigitte Says:

      Beth,
      I am almost done (yes, I am slow and don’t spend a whole lot of time on it). I will post pics of the result when I am done.

      Brigitte


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.